What defeats people?

I can think of many reasons why I didn’t proceed with what I wanted to proceed. For example, I wanted to learn knitting but I did’t want to start until I have every correct equipment ready to go. As time flies, I become too busy to buy these equipment and the fire or motivation fades away, I’ve moved to my next interest.

One day, I have found my letter to my future self that I have written when I graduated from the primary school. As a child with lots of hope for the future, I wanted to be so many different things. From being a solicitor to healthcare professional to work in a government. Funny enough when I read it, I thought of myself “yes, dream remains dream, none of them come true.” However, my sister-in-law read it differently. By then, had a degree in medical science and public health. My sister-in-law said “Isn’t that interesting? Although when you wrote this you already knew you were about to immigrate to another country, your dream didn’t change greatly. May be it wasn’t exactly what you wanted to be or imagine to be but it depends on how you evaluate your achievements. Actually, I read this as you have fulfilled most of your dream that you have set back then.”

This probably was one of the moment that I feel proud of myself, how far I have come. However, my doubting self said that “well, did you tried everything you could to get where you really wanted to be? You were fearful that people will judge you if you tell them that you want to become a solicitor using a language that is not your mother language. You didn’t think that you were not good enough to compete with them so you didn’t even try… etc.”

Fear defeats more people than any other one thing in the world.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

I don’t have any regrets in my current path of life. Although there were things that I could handled better, I am aware that I cannot change any of the past. Even I can turn back time, will I do things differently? Probably the answer is no. I cannot return to my past with all the knowledge I have accumulated throughout these years. That’s another life not this one.

To be fearless no matter what happens – That is the root of true happiness.

To move forward resolutely regardless what lies in store – That is the spirit, the resolve, that leads to human victory.

Daisaku Ikeda

The important thing is to take first step.

Bravely overcome one’s small fear give you the courage to take on the next.

Daisaku Ikeda

Over years, with all the support I can get, slowly I have allowed myself to be a little bit courageous to try new things out. Taking on a new responsibility, trying out a new outfit, talking to new people, and trying new job are some of the examples. Although it is fearful to start anything new, I have noticed changes in me that I feel free to make decisions. I am freed from all sorts of conditioning and boundaries that I thought I will never break through. Personally, I feel that’s my victory in life. Overcoming fear and trying new things that open my eyes and the world.

What are you avoiding today?
What is the true reason you are avoiding today?
What can you do to overcome that fear?

Comments are closed.

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started