What’s your greatest gift to others?

For few weeks, I pondered about concept of time. Majority of times, I take time for granted. There’s always next minute, next hour, next day, next week.

When do I experience the significance of time? and realising that time is limited? I think I feel this strongly when I hear about loss of a person. Do I wait until that day and cry? or will I act now as last moment in my life?

This moment, this instant is important, not some unknown time in the future.

Today, this is the very day is what matters.

You must put your whole being into the time that exists now.

For future victory rests in the present moment.

Daisaku Ikeda

I was living a life when I believed that I can take care of myself so I was able to act for another person now. Others always come before me and they’ve praised me for my instant response. However, recently, I have realised that to act instantly I was taking a risk, myself. In many occasions, I have realised that others put themselves first and I was there because I was just useful to them. I then question myself, what am I doing? Was it worthwhile to spend my time with them? The answer was no. My present moment was spent for the purpose of others but not for myself.

The greatest gift you can give someone is your time.

Rick Warren

because when you give your time, you are giving a portion of your life that you will never get back.

Jay Patel

Recently, I accompanied a friend to a doctor. For me, it was a natural thing that I offered to accompanied her. That was something I used to do all the time without a question. Now, I choose when and how I can support others. After seeing a doctor, she said “Thank you for coming with me”. I was surprised because for me it was a natural move but for others probably not.

Many people complain for the sake of complain. They don’t need you to solve anything or change their situation. They just need you to sit there and listen for them. By doing so, you are giving someone a great gift of your time that is a portion of your life.

You can choose what you want to do with your time.
What will you do with it?
Will you do anything special?
How would you like to share your time with others?

Comments are closed.

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started